17 suspects behind 2017 Rakwaro Catholic Church bloody attack between Dalmas, Abuor supporters jailed, fined

The Rakwaro Catholic Church, Rongo MP Paul Abuor and former area MP Dalmas Otieno who is vying for governor seat,.

By MN Reporter

At last, the ghosts and pain of an ugly incident that marred the Rakwaro Catholic Parish in Rongo constituency have been exorcised in a court judgment.

On April 20, 2017 an ODM training planned at the church turned chaotic ahead of primaries when suspected supporters of Dalmas Otieno invaded the venue leading into bloody chaos.

In the polls, Dalmas who was by then the sitting MP was facing off with Paul Abuor and the incident forced the ODM party to summon several politicians in the disciplinary committee.

Otieno in the past denied and distanced himself from the chaos at the center.

In court papers seen by Migori News from the registry, the Rongo Principal Magistrate court on criminal case no 211 of 2017 in a judgement by Raymond Langat found the following 17 suspects guilty:

  1. Francis Omwango Ondieki alias Boyi
  2. Michael Onyango Nyangweso
  3. Noah Adoo Kulanga
  4. Ignatioa Miyogo Onguko
  5. Fox Were Agolla
  6. Calvin Juma Aran
  7. Peter Otieno Onyango
  8. Grado Anthony Opanga
  9. Daniel Omwango Otieno
  10. George Maalimu Grant
  11. Kelvin Oweno Adika
  12. George Otieno Odhiambo
  13. James Onyango Nyagowa
  14. James Ogallo Oketch
  15. Erick Farrow Ochieng’
  16. Gilbert Oyugi Ngare
  17. John Odhiambo Agoro

The seven were charged with several counts which included malicious damage  to property contrary to section 339 (1) of the penal code.

The court heard that on the material day at Rakwaro Catholic Parish in Rongo sub-county the group “with others not in court willfully and un-lawfullty damaged  seven grilled glass windows, one wooden door, electric cables, assorted chairs and benches valued at Sh2million,”

Other charges included assault and being found with crude weapons which saw them being charged by felony.

Some of the victims who were attacked included Valentine Aluoch Omollo, Valentine Samuel Adongo Maduma, Maurice Paul Ogallo Otieno, Cleophas Juma Apara and Seth Ochieng Juma,

In passing the judgment all the 17 were jailed for one year in jail with accused persons facing one charge given an option of a Sh100,000 fine while those facing more charges given a Sh150,000 fine.

Following the ruling, on June 12, Abuor said he was planning to attend a prayer rally at Maranatha Church in Rakwaro to call for peaceful campaigns.