Manyatta FC wins both men, women trophies in Awendo MP aspirant Paul Onyango inaugural tournament

SUBSCRIBE: Awendo MP aspirant Paul Onyango organises constituency football tournament

\By MN Reporter

Manyatta fc soccer men and women are the champions of the first edition of Paul Onyango annual tourney that was played at Malunga sports ground in South Sakwa Awendo Sub County.

Manyatta fc soccer men proved their might to the 17 teams out of 23 teams that participated in the soccer men after supplanting Wazito fc 2-0 in the finals of the game, with Manyatta soccer queens proving to the other 6 teams their might after edging out Mariwa fc women 2-0 in the women’s final exciting encounter.

During the semi finals of the tourney, Manyatta fc humiliated Marienga fc 2-0 before Wazito fc beating Gunga fc 1-0 to qualify for the finals of the games.

In the women soccer semi finals, Manyatta queens beat Mulo fc before Mariwa fc beating Utoma fc 2-1.

While speaking during the event, the chief guest of the tourney Engineer Michael Ouma Muga who spoke on behalf of the proprietor, applauded all the teams that participated during the 5 day event saying it was an opportunity for them to identify and showcase their talent however calling on the government to come up with proper mechanisms of ensuring sporting activity is enhanced.

A statement that was echoed by the tournament coordinator, Lucas Odhiambo who however challenged the area MP Walter Owino to prioritize sporting activities in the constituency which the youths and the residents have been yearning  for in the past three years.

The winner of the tourney in both men and women soccer went home with the trophy, a ball and Ksh.15, 000 as the first runners up pocketing Ksh 10,000 and a ball with the second runners up pocketing Ksh.7, 000 and a ball and fourth position going home with Ksh.5, 000 and a ball for the 23 teams that took part in the tourney.

In the soccer women, Winnie Aluoch from Manyatta queens took the golden boot award, with Sharon Otieno from the same team taking the golden glove and pet Atieno taking home the golden ball even as Dan Odaro from Wazito fc taking the golden boot after scoring 3 goals with Sam Oluoch of Manyatta taking the golden glove and George Odhiambo taking the golden ball after becoming the best player of the tourney.