Migori News senior writer Mbaya for Suna East MP, other county journalists join MCA race

Journalists dance during funeral of a colleague in Homa Bay county

Journalists dance during funeral of a colleague in Homa Bay county

By MN Reporter

Migori News senior writer and political analyst Timothy Mbaya plans to launch his bid for Suna East parliamentary seat in 2017.

Mbaya who hails from Kakrao Ward said earlier he wanted to be an MCA, but pressure from his constituents convinced him to unseat the incumbent Junet Mohammed.

“I have looked through all other aspirants for the seat and realized none has the capacity to lead Suna East except me,” he said.

He said he is still consulting elders before he launches his bid officially and the join the race with among others Nairobi Majority Leader Elias Okumu, former Migori MP John Pesa, businessman Patrick Odipo among others.

The journalist, if elected will join other former scribes Dennitah Ghati (Women Representative), Matiko Bohoko (County Public Communication Director and Kuria West aspirant) and Maneno Mwikwabe (County Executive and former Kuria East aspirant) to join politics.

Former county Kenya Times reporter Bernard Omondi ‘Gwonyo’ has also declared interest for Uriri MP seat.

Already former county Standard Correspondent Kephar Otieno is campaigning in South Kanyamkago ward with others currently working in the county already declaring interest for the following seats.

George Juma (Radio Ramogi) for Kolwa East Ward, Kisumu County
Celestine Mwango (KBC TV) for East Kamagambo ward, Rongo constituency
Nick Oluoch (Former Standard Reporter) for North Kamagambo Ward
Scophine Otieno (Standard, Kenyan Weekly) for West Nyakach ward, Kisumu county
Jesse Sikali (Radio Jambo) for Mundika Ward in Busia County
Manuel Odeny (the Star), Elisha Otieno (Daily Nation, Radio Mayienga) and Kassim Adinasi (Citizen TV) for Ragana-Oruba ward, Suna West Constituency. (Kassim is likely to go for Suna West MP seat)
Violet Owuor (Radio Mayienga) for nomination
Clinton Oballa (Governors Press Service) for Suna Central ward, Suna East constituency
Basil Okoth Nyakwar Ochanjo (Radio Lake Victoria and Radio Milambo) for Sakwa Central, Awendo constituency
Emily Otieno (Radio Urban) for South Kanyamkago in Uriri Constituency
Nelly Achieng’ (Radio Milambo) for Kabonyo-Kanyagwal Ward, Nyando constituency