Junet’s wife Dekah defeated kina Elias, Liende says as Suna East is gone for a third term

Dekah Jamaa in the campaign trail

By MN Reporter

Suna East Mp Junet Mohammed as won a third term with his his five rivals trailing him so far in results released by IEBC at the Kadika Secondary tallyin center.

Suna East returning officer Clement Osiemo released the results which placed Junet much ahead of his closest rival:

  • Junet- 26,516
  • Kileleshwa MCA Elias Okuma of DAP-K- 4,978 votes
  • MDG candidate Odipo Patrick- 4,808
  • Former Migori county executive Elijah Odhiambo, Independent- 2,266
  • Amimo Samuel, independent- 1,280
  • Hassan Bashir, Independent- 686

Junet was in Suna East to campaign only once on Augist 2 when he was accompanied by Mombasa governor Hassan joho and his wife Dekah Jamaa took charge of campaigns.

Bruno Liende, Suna East MP candidate who backed off from the race took to social media to chide other candidates saying they were floored by Junet’s wife dekah and not the legislator.

“Congratulations Mrs. Junet Mohammed for finishing four men, I told these fellow men to sit down and produce one candidate and battle with Junet and they had refused, I had to quit and let them go,” Liende posted.

“Despite not being in the constituency, other ODM candidates from MCA to county seats have been using his networks and campaigning for him,” Oluoch said.

Dekah Jamaa has been using this to campaign for her husband.

“While other politicians close to Raila have deserted him to concentrate on their own campaigns, Junet has stuck at national politics for the love of Odinga. Voters are seeing this keenly,” Dekah Jamaa, the legislator’s wife said.

Jamaa said everyday Suna East voters have been seeing Junet shielding Raila in national politics which has kept him busy, but the ground was still intact.

“Junet has not been on the re-election trail for his seat, just because for his love and dedication for the Luo community and the need for the presidential seat. We know the ground is intact,” Jamaa said.

She was speaking at Kadika village when she met elders, opinion shapers and voters from Nyamware, Kadika and Ombo polling centers.

In other results in the constituency, Raila Odinga clinched the presidential votes with 38,391 votes followed by Deputy President William Ruto with 2,128 votes while Wahiga David got 27 and Wajackoyah George with 74 votes.

All ODM MCA candidates were declared winners with Martin Okello for Kakrao ward, Samuel Obrien for Suna Central, Caleb Ong’ele for Kwa ward and Charles Koyoo for God Jope.