COMPLETE LIST: Sahau Independent wave in Nyanza only 2/29 MPs were elected as ODM 6 price ruled in 2017 polls


By MN Reporter

Across four Nyanza counties where ODM holds sway the call for six piece should scare independent candidates if results from last elections are anything to go by.

Just like the forthcoming August 9 polls, the Independent candidates especially those who feel were denied ODM tickets in nominations have been having this false sense of euphoria.

But in 2017, the same euphoria only produced two Independent legislators out of 29 constituencies in Migori, Homa Bay, Kisumu and Siaya counties.

No Independent candidate scored it for any county seat of governor, women representative and senator which is a major concern to key political figures.

In the entire region only Suna West MP Peter Masara in Migori county and Kisumu East MP Shakeel Shabbir who was re-elected, sailed through in the poll as Independents.

And to show how a close shave their win was, Masara got 19,341 votes to floor the incumbent Joseph Ndiege on ODM ticket with 1025 votes.

Shabbir got 33,032 votes to retain his seat and beat Nicholas Odongo on ODM ticket who got 28,146 votes.

In the region John Olago Aluoch won an MP seat in a Ford Kenya ticket with 33,731, a third without an ODM ticket after flooring John Obiero who got 22,416.

The three showed ODM party is still strong in the area.

In the last governor race, Kisumu Governor Jack Ranguma who tried to defend their seats on Independent after losing in primaries  were rejected by voters.

In Siaya county, Jakoyo Midiwo (IND) was defeated in Gem constituency by Elisha Odhiambo (ODM) while in Alego Usonga constituency Omondi Mallan (IND) was sent home by Samuel Atandi.

In Homa Bay county, Rangwe MP George Oner (IND) was sent home by Lillian Gogo in Rangwe constituency. Ndhiwa MP Agostino Netto (IND) was replaced by Martin Owino while Kasipul Kabondo MP Silvance Osele (IND) will be replaced by Eve Obara.

In Homa Bay county only one MCA from Lambwe ward in Suba North constituency won on Independent ticket with Wiper party getting West Karachuonyo ward seat, the rest of seats were painted Orange.

In Migori county, Uriri MP John Kobado (IND) will be replaced by Mark Nyamita, Awendo MP Jared Kopiyo (IND) will be replaced by Walter Owino while Rongo MP Dalmas Otieno (IND) was sent home by Paul Abuor.

Ranguma was defeated by a huge margin of 114,018 votes by Anyang’ Nyong’o of ODM who got 266,641 votes.

In Homa Bay, former Kasipul MP Oyugi Magwanga who vied on Independent ticket lost by 20,124 votes to the incumbent Cyprian Awiti on ODM ticket who got 203,809 votes. In Migori county, governor Okoth Obado of ODM retained his seat by 195,264 votes to beat former cabinet minister Ochilo Ayacko on Independent ticket by 84,895 votes.

In Siaya county only 16,662 votes separated the independent wave between incumbent  Cornel Rasanga of ODM who got 192,376 votes followed by former Rarieda MP Nicholas Gumbo who vied on Independent ticket.